London 2012 Olympics – My Experience

I had the incredible experience of working on the London 2012 Olympics! Procter and Gamble are in global partnership with the International Olympic Committee. Kathryn Davies had the brilliant idea of setting up P & G Salons to treat the athletes.   Lara Zee was asked to put together a team of talented Make-up Artists, Hair Stylists and Nail Technicians.  Lara sourced artists from within the Fashion, TV and Film industry as she wanted to take advantage of the creativity and experience of each individual. It was a pleasure working with such a fabulous team! All the artists involved had to attend meetings and training sessions which began at the beginning of the year. Once we were selected to be part of the P & G team, we had to get accreditation for security reasons.

Tiff in Uniform

I worked in the Athletes’ Village and the Wella Studio in central London. When working in the Athletes’ Village, I usually arrived early in the morning, as I left plenty of time for my journey from Wimbledon and extra time for the security checks.

Olympic Rings

I was pleasantly surprised at how smoothly the journey and security checks went, so I had time to grab a coffee while I waited for the Salon to be opened. It was great to be within the Athletes’ Village and to see some of the Athletes ‘power walking’ around the grounds.

Flags & Signing Walls

I felt privileged to work in the Salon in the Athletes’ Village.  There was such an amazing ‘buzz’ with many of the international athletes taking advantage of the services offered.

P & G Salon, Athlete Village

The team of creative artists helped the athletes get ‘glammed up’ for press interviews and events including the Opening Ceremony.  The make-up artists designed various make-up looks on face charts, for inspiration or to help with interruption with the non-English speaking athletes.  Here are a few of my designs:

Inspirational Face Carts for Athletes

We also offered hair styling and facials to help the athletes relax in between their events. The Nail Technicians did a fantastic job painting patriotic nails for the Athletes.  I was lucky enough to have my nails done during a break.

Patriotic Nails

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting the athletes as they are very inspirational people and are so focused on their sport!  I found it rewarding working with some athletes who had never had the chance to be pampered before.  They seemed to really appreciate it and enjoyed their session with me.

Tiff and Torch

I will never forget this brilliant experience, as it was a once in a life time opportunity!  I am very grateful to all those involved.  Also I was thrilled to receive a box of goodies sent recently by Procter and Gamble with a note saying ‘Thank you for your hard work’! A lovely surprise and I will enjoy using the products.

I thought London did a great job hosting the Olympic Games and I feel proud having been part of this incredible event!

